fell into the power of Aleazzo Visconti and in 1404 when the town was set ablaze by Facino Cane, on the site where the Castle now stands, there was a “castrum” (military camp) which was fortified with ramparts enclosing a medieval village; the Ovigliese still refer to the Castle with the traditional name “borgo di dentro” (village inside) that is to say the village inside the fortified town-walls.
Likewise, what is certain is that following the “castrum” and the domain of Oviglio
, it was the Visconti, Dukes of Milan, who empowered a number of noble families, the last one of which, the Perboni family, occupied it for five centuries. Oviglio Castle
rightfully assumed its title as a Royal Castle, in that it was purchased by Her Majesty, Queen Cristina of Savoia, who was in line to the succession of the throne of the Kingdom of the Due Sicilie and widow of His Majesty, King Carlo Felice.
When the Counts of Calcamuggi occupied the Castle, they lavished enormous sums of money on restructuring and new arrangements, improving the austere aspects of the east and west flanks, rebuilding from the foundation the charming and artistic east entrance and the magnificent tower overhanging it, rebuilding the west entrance, and on the restoration of the main hall with a stylish and distinguished design.
On the 4th of June 1908, upon the request of the Ministry of State Education, the Royal Castle of Oviglio
was declared a national monument.
There are no historical documents attesting to the existence of this Castle prior to 1300, but it is certain that since 1367 when